Did you know…?

1. In 2003, the founding members of CONCORD included 3 national platforms from EU10 countries – FoRS/Czech Republic, SKOP/Malta and Platforma MVRO/Slovakia.
2. Over the past 10 years, only two CONCORD Board members have been from EU13 countries: Jan Plesinger (2003-2005, Czech Republic/FoRS) and Annamaria Kekesi (2007-2010, Hungary/HAND).
3. There are currently three EU12 representatives taking up leadership positions in CONCORD working structures as co-chairs. Who are they? Mari-Helene Kaber from AKU/Estonia, Nadya Boneva from PBID/Bulgaria and Inese Vaivare from Lapas/Latvia.
4. Altogether the EU13 Development NGO platforms represent 429 non-governmental organisations in Europe. Only 7 National Platforms are supported financially by their Ministries of Foreign Affairs/Development Agencies.
5. Slovenia was the first EU13 country to hold the Presidency of the Council of the EU in 2008 followed by the Czech Republic (2009), Hungary (2010), Poland (2010) and Lithuania (2013). Latvia will held the EU Presidency in the first half of 2015.
6. Since 2004, the Czech Republic, Slovakia, Poland and Slovenia have joined the Development Assistance Committee of the OECD. However, only 6 countries of the EU13 are members of the OECD.
7. EU13 countries provided around 1 billion euro for official development assistance (ODA) in 2013 which represents 1.8% of the collective EU ODA.
8. Poland provided more ODA in 2013 in absolute numbers (357 mil. euro) than Luxemburg (324 mil. euro) and Greece (230 mil. euro).
9. Two EU13 countries (Czech Republic and Slovakia) implement their bilateral ODA through development agencies. For the rest, bilateral ODA is administered by the Ministries of Foreign Affairs.
10. Between 2004-2013 EU13 NGOs led the implementation of 61 projects funded through the European Commission’s Development Education and Awareness Raising (DEAR) funding line which represents 31.3 million euro or 14.17% of the overall budget.