What is the Cotonou Partnership Agreement?

Cotonou Partnership Agreement is a comprehensive agreement between the EU and the African, Caribbean and Pacific (ACP) countries. It was signed in Cotonou, on 23 June 2000.

The Cotonou Partnership Agreement is based on three complementary pillars: development cooperation, economic and trade cooperation, and the political dimension.

The agreement will expire in 2020 and the formal negotiations between the governments will start by mid-2018. These EU-ACP relations are currently being reviewed in the “post-Cotonou” process and the coming months offer plenty of opportunities for Civil Society to join the discussions.